Tags

, , , , ,

 

c. 1911

 

Failure meant a stripping away of the inessential.
I stopped pretending to myself
that I was anything other than what I was,
& began to direct all my energy to finishing
the only work that mattered to me.
Had I really succeeded at anything else,
I might never have found the determination
to succeed in the one area where I truly belonged.


I was set free,
because my greatest fear had been realized,
& I was still alive,
& I still had a daughter whom I adored,
& I had an old typewriter,
& a big idea.
And so rock bottom became
a solid foundation on which
I rebuilt my life.

 

– J. K. Rowling, Harvard commencement address, 2008

 
 

Чай, пиво c. 1900


 
 
 
 
 

Soda-lemon stand, Rishikesh


 
 
 
 
 

Lemon Soda, Kempty Falls, Mussoorie


 
 
 
 
 

Lemon Tree


 
 
 
 
 
 

The Crystal Ball, 1902


 
 
 
 
 
 

Tradiční česká růžová limonáda


 
 
 
 
 
 

Verrerie of Bréhat


 
 
 
 
 
 

Magic Kingdom


 
 
 
 
 
 

Magic Kingdom


 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

© 30 June 2012 Isabella Darling.  All rights reserved.  Images as attributed.

